Why do I need Filters?

Right - I'll admit - complete novice here.

Hubby wanted a DSLR camera so he can take images for his websites himself, he used to do photography years ago (long before the D came about and his old SLR is somewhere gathering dust in our garage - probably in one of the unopened boxes since we moved in 2007).

So I've got him a Sony A65 for his birthday (well technically it belongs to his company but it's almost his birthday so that will do!) anyway I need to know - do I need to get him filters?

I bought an extra flash and a 16 - 80mm lens as recommended but since I've been looking up on all sorts of photography sites and there seems to be lots of reasons to get filters.

Also I bought a SDXC card - anyone used this?

Thanks

Suz xxx

With editing programs being so good these days, even iPhoto has a good editing program, there are many corrections and tweaks that can be done once the image is 'in the can', so to speak but there are a few things that only really work if you use a filter at the time; the polarising filter is one of these, and very effective it is too. It usually comes in a rotating mount so you can turn it to find the optimum effect, and it gets the strongest contrast/saturation effect at shooting at 90 degrees to the sun, ie: shoulder to the sun - but still works otherwise, but not so intensely.

I used to mess about a lot with filters. One fun effect was to put the camera on a tripod and, using a subject that has an element of movement in it, shoot 3 successive shots on the same frame changing from pure red to pure green to pure blue filters - some exposure compensation will be necessary. The 'stationary' part of the scene will look normal but the mobile part will be --- odd.

Hope he has lots of fun with it .