2:1 Degree

Hi all, does anyone know what a 2:1 degree translates to in French? ie what is the equivalent level?

Thanks

you've said it all, Brian, it's a bloody minefield! I'm just glad I did my maîtrise/masters here in France so I've never had to go through any of the explaining/trying to get equivalences etc. :-D

When I did the seminars in Bordeaux they gave me the sheet describing academic awards that I copied from, so yes you may well be right, but do all universities apply the same standards? As you know, ENS is peculiar to France in the entire world, yet the way their minds worked in the personnel office was to say 'Ah oui, Cambridge, Oxford et LSE sont ENS, mais aucune autre université britannique'! Duh! Double duh! They phoned an academic in the university to find out whether or not a Cambridge diploma has a seal or stamp in case it was a forgery in my case. Fortunately he/she had their diploma in the filing cabinet and could confirm it is just the two signatures from the Administrative Officer and Registrary of the University, not even the Vice-Chacellor!

I suspect it is just like the UK where a Scots degree that is an MA or MSc since they do not have BA/BSc is graded a BA by several English universities, ditto some universities want to have it that honours is more significant than a straight degree. In short, countries regulate, universities ignore, so who really knows? Except that we both agree on our answer to Nick's question.

Just to clarify, Brian, the DEUG is a bac+2, licence is bac+3, masters 1 = bac+4 which replaced the maîtrise, and masters 2 is a bac+5 which replaced the DESS amongst others ;-)