Affinity Designer

Not what it says on the box! I have purchased Affinity Designer which is mainly an illustration programme like Adobe Illustrator but with very good text handling as well. Lots of the tools and commands are the same or similar but still a bit of a learning curve which I will get to grips with once this awful warm and sunny weather goes away.

It costs 49.99€ for ever and is thus miles cheaper than Illustrator which I could no longer justify spending our pennies on. The company has just released Affinity Photo which is an Adobe Photoshop lookalike but with more features and, yes', it's cheaper.

Has anyone else experience of this application?

www.affinity.serif.com/en-us/

I've used Serif's desktop publishing and photo editing software on my PC for years and it's excellent. Apple users have been pressing the Nottingham company for Mac versions of its software, and the Affinity products are its response. I'm no artist, but Affinity Designer looks the business. I can heartily recommend the company.

Yes he was one of the artists I liked,just looked at his drawings,love them, and Alan Mcgowan is my favourite.

The monochrome was to study tonal values.I always have a problem seeing tones,I see colour first,so this was a good excercise,I'm not too good with colour either.

Whens a good time to call at weekend,I have drawing sunday evening.

Apologies - 0559049002 - is the no.

Had a look at the winners and it seems odd to me that as photographs get higher and higher resolution most of the paintings, as you say, are photographic. I quite like hyper realism in paintings as the style can add an extra dimension but most of these are average and rather dull. I quite liked Gavan McCullough's self portrait as it had life and attitude.

Your lady looks calm and composed - why monochrome?

Gavan McCullough
Gavan McCullough