All about Flues please .....why would one choose one with a double skin?

Hello all,

Still researching the wood burning stove side of things....unlikely to get one fitted before xmas (although I'd like to) as part of the existing chimney has a dangerous lean and will have to be taken down to a lower level, with some sort of pipe added to extend it to the right height...am getting devis for this right now...Sorry have wasted time trying to import pictures for this, but I'm a novice Windows 8.1 user and I haven't been able to master this yet

Then of course there is the question of what type of flue to go for.....James ....there's your chance to let us know about your latest installation...

Hilary, it is a good idea to fill the void between the pipe and the flue with vermiculite which isn't too expensive. If it needs a lot you have like myself one of those large chimneys. I am going to take down the large chimney and rebuild it in the terracotta blocks for the job as it will allow me to change somethings indoors too. It's to get a quicker warm up and better flue temperature to expel particulates etc. if the gasses cool on a long run then soot and particulates cal fall back down and in some cases cause a blockage which could be dangerous.

Another way to line it is when a team install a liner but way of an inflatable sausage which keeps the flue shape and then around the outside of the flue they pump lightweight insulating mortar. this can also be handy to stabilise a dodgy chimney stack.

Again,

Thanks to you both for this info.

I will look at the Hetas site.....I was a bit concerned because I had come across a website that insisted that it is essential to fill the void between the skin of the flexible liner and the chimney stack with some kind of granular insulating material....?

I would need an awful lot, I think.....