American School Lunch Compared to French School Lunch

American School Lunch Compared to French School Lunch: Choices

Thought the American community would like to take a look at this article. I have been tracking school lunches in both countries for the last two years. This article is about the choices on the American school menus versus the French system in which there is no choice. Hope you find it interesting and perhaps it would open a debate on what system is more fair. Choices or equality.

I'm going to reply but base my response solely on my own experience in the American school system and from what I saw when I was an educator there. When I went to school, first in Michigan and then in upstate NY, I was allowed to choose what I wanted to eat. We were usually given a choice of a hamburger or chicken nuggets OR the menu which would have such things as spaghetti and lasagna (all REAL healthy choices as you can see). Later, in high school, I was allowed to order whatever I wanted. If I just wanted the French Fries, a coke and a Ho-Ho, that's what I would get and is what I usually got every day. Unfortunately, my thighs are STILL paying the price to this day!

When I became a teacher in upstate NY, I rarely went into the lunchroom, but I noticed that when I DID go, students had a choice of healthier items. Broccoli was served with roast beef. Turkey and mashed potatoes were served with gravy, yes, but not gobbed on like I remember from my childhood. I still saw chicken nuggets, but they were served once a week instead of every day and the soda machines were turned off so that students couldn't get at all that sugar. They might not be ideal, but I think the health standards have definitely started to improve

Hi Jef,