Another fine mess the Chinese have gotten us into?

It would seem the jury is still very much out on how the “Wuhan” virus developed. Wet market or lab, accident or experiment?

And some good news from a Lab…

Must say, all the stops are being pulled out. The trick is to stay well until they come to fruition.

4 Likes

your heading seems a little alarmist, especially with the noises coming from the USA, so maybe, as we cannot access the first link, without making an unwanted subscription, you could give us your take on the article

2 Likes

There’s no evidence it was developed in a lab - except for the inevitable conspiracy theorists.

5 Likes

You can access the article Martin. You may have to register first but it’s free.

As a layman I found it very interesting, a couple of points in particular. It appears that a lab splicing in a bit of DNA or RNA would leave traces that could be spotted in the virus’ DNA. Also the method of “breeding” the virus using multiple species. So refuting one method but leaving the door open regarding another.

I’m sorry if you found the heading alarmist, I tried to make it amusing by quoting Oliver Hardy.

The reason I posted it all is that I had personally discounted the Lab story as Trump bluster (which he ramped up a bit more yesterday) and US military sources had discounted it. However I respect the Economist and if they were examining the possibility I thought it was worth a read.

Based on this article and the Chinese regime’s secrecy and duplicity, I’ve upgraded my scepticism level from “total” to “neutral” :slightly_smiling_face:

2 Likes

Did you read the article Paul. I think it’s alwasy wise to keep an open mind… and so does then Economist obviously :thinking:

I don’t think it worked John - don’t give up the day job yet lol

1 Like

I thought I read it the other day, maybe not - I can’t check at the moment because it seems broken in Firefox.