Antony's first solo Landing

Proud father thing. Antony is my younger son and he completed his first solo flight at 16 years old last year.

Hi Stuart. He's supposed to be passing his PPL this summer, we hope. He's done the theory now he just has to get through the flights. I know he would love to meet other English pilots though. Maybe we will get up there this summer. He's in UNI at Toulouse at the moment.

Andrew, you never cease to amaze me.

Well done - know the feeling but only ever went solo in a glider but the silence is great. Otherwise I can't compete with the rest of you - I did some basic flying training with the royal navy. I was an officer training to be a pilot, got through the first course on chipmunks but just couldn't sort my too sensitive inner ears out later on and left having spent most of my time doing practicing barrel rolls, loops, staling and dropping out of the sky spinning upside down so you learn how to recover from pretty much anything...! They finally offered me a "straight and level only" course and three weeks on the raf's spin table, anyone actually done it, I said thanks but no thanks and went air traffic for a while before rejoining civy street

Just to let you know there is now an English flight school based at Limoges airport once again, cosmo flight school which I am running, we are teaching the UK PPL for the private pilot license. Flying in the area is amazing I have been introduced to the Atlantic coast near La Rochelle and can't quite believe my eyes......

www.cosmoflightschool.com

Great achievement there. I wish that I had started flying as such an early age, but I was too bust working on aircraft at the time. I know what Antony was feeling after his first solo, as I have been in that situation. When you exit the aircraft you feel 10 foot tall and think that everyone is looking at you!
It happened for me a number of times, first microlight solo, first group A aircraft solo, first solo cross country, etc.