Any financial wizards out there?

One of my personal pensions matures next year. I phoned the company to ascertain what the procedure is and what I can expect to happen. I was a bit surprised to hear that I will NOT be offered 25% of it as a cash payment and I will get just the GMP - guaranteed minimum pension. This is not a disaster, as I was not depending on that, but it would have been "nice". Does anyone know if there is anything I can do about that, or is that just a fact of life?

Hi Roger. You could ask James for my contact details.I’d be glad to help.

Thanks for all the input folks. For the record I am a French resident and tax-payer so there are no questions on that front. As this policy is not due to mature until December next year I guess any changes in April will need to be weighed up as well??

Mary - thank you for your thoughts on QROPs - as a total layman on this it is reassuring to hear a positive second opinion.

The company in Geneva are now talking to L&G so I should get some feedback on this fairly soon.

I had a typo sorry; FDA should be FSA. I will declare I am an IFA & Partner with Blevins Franks & have been advising here 12 yrs. the residence issue is a little more than simply183 days guys. If you arrive in France with an intention to reside here aa a main home, ypu ontain residency. Some income may be taxed elsewhere depending on its source & double tax treaty. Do be aware that UK rules are likely to change April 2013 ( was going to be 2012) . 90 day counting will go. I will talk to James about putting a recent article we wrote on here

yes Dave, 183 days makes sense, because that would be half the year, and as your Uk site points out, you can only be tax domiciled in one place any year and if you are more than half the year somewhere then that is the place.

Marys advice souns spot on to me, and correct.

Good advice Mary.