Are you an artist, or not?

Bonjour,

I sort of had a conversation with someone, about what actually IS art, and found it difficult to define…

From then, also thought, how do people classify themselves as artists. Do they have to have qualifications, or be recognized by a professional body as a producer of art. You know, in the eyes of other people, i do not really know.
At the end of the day, I don’t really care, i’ll call myself an artist in a small way. I started painting in acrylics on heavy paper last year ( May 2106). Self taught, progression has been interesting. Now moved into oils, and finding the experience uplifting.I do like mostly landscape/seascapes… a small example

6 Likes

Art is very definitely in the eye of the beholder. A couple of years ago, we attended an Art Expo by a chap we knew vageuly over a number of years through our mutual interest in old cars.

He was absolutely delighted to welcome “my engleesh frens”… and we were pleased to see what he could do…

Turned out to be very much “abstract” stuff which neither of us really like… but…suddenly I spied a dark mask of colours… and I knew exactly what it was. I was transported back to my early childhood. Darkness all around and my Dad lighting a firework at the bottom of the garden…

OH was totally bemused and our friend really chuffed… when I announced that I simply had to buy that painting… He called it The Tree of Life (in French of course), but I explained what I could see… nothing to do with trees at all… and he simply shrugged his shoulders and gave me a big hug.

Said painting hangs in our bedroom where I can see it and smile at it every day…

Having said all that… I do like your painting…the waves… I can almost hear crashing gently and rolling up the shore… well done. :relaxed: