Attention Autoentrepreneurs important info re CFE

Autoentrepreneurs if you have just received a demand for CFE and you set up your business in 2009 or later, don't pay it. Write to your tax office with a copy of the "Avis" saying what date you started your business. I have just checked this with my local tax office. Here's a link from FEDAE

rather unfortunate, it sounds as though it's just the basic micro entreprise and not the AE scheme - which most fonctionnaires are not trained in, or weren't to begin with so it's not surprising. Shame because everything has been very clearly laid out on the AE site from the word go with no need to go and see anybody, I'm in my third year now and have never seen anyone but have had to make so many phone calls at the outset as nobody knes shat they were doing! Better luck next time!

Well some idiot at the place where you go to sign up said the forfait was better and as one does when young and trusting, he did just that. Fonctionnaires are a world apart - in other countries we call it corruption - tricking the unwary!

that's the beauty of the AE scheme - you don't pay the forfait, you just pay according to what you actually earn - if it's nothing, you pay nothing ;-)

Not totally relevant to your discussion but if anyone who is already employed decided to set up as an entrepreneur before giving up their job - be very very careful. My son did the paperwork to set up a business because he was out of work but kept getting offers to do work on the 'black' but then he got a good job offer nd took it.