Aurora Borealis on the move. What does this mean?

Lots of folks have been posting wonderful photos of the aurora borealis as far south as northern France - some even saying they’ve seen the pretty lights in Florida.
Missed it myself.
But the reason it’s normally seen much further north is because that is where the Earth’s magnetosphere is weakest there - that phenomenon that PROTECTS us from solar radiation.
I’m not a scientist but it seems to me that this pretty manifestation is NOT good news.
Who knows? What do you think? Is this yet another signal that we’re in trouble or was it a one off BIG solar flare event.
I’m reminded of the Nicolas Cage disaster, “Knowing”.

The principal reason is increased solar activity.

This is the current forecast/situation.

https://www.spaceweather.gov/

2 Likes

Nope! (well, not much…)

This. The sun’s output fluctuates on an 11-year cycle - we are currently in “solar cycle 25” (measured from when recordings began in 1755, not in the lifetime of the sun, obvs. )

The Sun is heading towards “solar maximum” in 2025 - then it will tail off again over the following 5 years.

More solar activity (sunspots, flares, coronal mass ejections) means more particles hitting the top of the Earth’s atmosphere and therefore a more vivid and widespread Aurora.

It’s nothing to do with climate change which is a purely Earth-bound phenomenon.

Solar emissions do have the potential to disrupt satellite comms and GPS as well as power networks, but otherwise the magnetosphere protects us from them.

It’s the invasion of the Zillons from the Planet Thaarg that you really want to worry about. :smiley:

7 Likes

Only if there are no small dogs to hand.

3 Likes

At which point the climate scientist will rejoice that their planning worked :rofl:

1 Like

True, they will eat the small dogs first giving you time to run away.

My little sister in central west NSW (Oz) had a gorgeous pink bit!