Auto-Entrepreneur work on Working Holiday Visa?

Update

I have found other WHV holders who were able to do this no problem. It is a matter of registering, so that is what I’m looking to do now. I’ve also emailed my consulate in hopes of clarifying, but have found a number of people in the same situation who have been successful. Thanks for your input!

Hello!

I am a qualified English language teacher from Australia, about to head over to France in January on the Working Holiday Visa (Program Vacance Travail).

I’m in contact with a potential employer who mentioned that because they are a small company, they work with auto entrepreneurs. I know very little about it, but from what I gather it is the equivalent to working as a sole trader/freelancer?

Am I eligible to find work as an auto-entrepreneur while on the working holiday visa or no?

Any clarification or info would be much appreciated!

Thanks

Emily

1 Like

Hmmm, being an auto-entrepreneur is like setting up your own business, so you don’t find work as an AE but you are one. So whether you can set up as an AE with your visa is not obvious. I don’t think you are allowed to take permanent employment contracts or affiliate to the french health system are you? So this could be similar as it opens your rights to benefits.

Weren’t you given info about what you can and can’t do with your visa? France normally loves its administration and buries you in paper. Can you ask the consulate that gave you the visa?

I can’t find anything about it on a quick search either. Sorry.

Amd same question asked two years ago with no response…

https://pvtistes.net/forum/lemploi-et-le-benevolat/148098-peut-acquerir-le-statut-de-micro-entrepreneur-sur-un-pvt.html

Hi Emily and welcome to the community.

As I understand things, with a Working Holiday Visa - you remain a “Tourist who may be Employed” until the Visa ends and you use your Return Ticket to go back home.