Being a Self Employed Electrician in France

Hi,

I’m a self-employed electrician and am considering moving to France. I was wondering if anyone would be able to clarify the requirements/qualifications that would allow me to work in a self-employed capacity, mainly in the domestic sector.

If it’s as confusing as it is in England then this should turn out to be an interesting thread!

I’m qualified in the UK with level 3 2365 (electrical installation diploma), 2391 (periodic inspection and testing), 18th edition, but as I didn’t do an apprenticeship, I don’t have NVQ3 or AM2. I don’t need them to work in the domestic sector in the UK, nor do I need a gold card. I’m a registered domestic installer with the NICEIC.

Does anyone know if my qualifications will be recognised in France? Do I need to get the NVQ3 and AM2 cert before I can work in France? As stated before, I don’t need them to work in the domestic sector in the UK, but I’m actually thinking of doing it anyway.

Thanks. :slight_smile:

1 Like

Welcome Nina, all I can say is, my qualifications as a gas engineer have no credence in France. I’d guess its the same for sparkies

1 Like

I would have thought that you’d need to take the french qualifications, things are far more regulated here than in the uk, electrics are a bit different too. Try your nearest chambres des métiers :wink:

1 Like

This seems to give some pointers

1 Like

Hi Nina and welcome. Although this thread doesn’t answer your question I thought it might be of interest.
Izzy x

Did you have to do French qualifications?

Thank you.

Yes, it’s my mother. I’m actually thinking about moving out there myself though. It’s been my plan to move out there when I’m retired for a long while, but I’m not sure I can wait that long! Hence, the reason for the post. I want to work out how easy/difficult it would be for me to work out there.

1 Like