Best source for info on Visas?

Hello everyone.

I am very new to the idea of leaving America and living in a foreign country, but I met a man and fell in love in Paris. Unfortunately, he is Lebanese and while he was married to a woman and living in Venezuela, his French green card expired. He has been trying to get himself re-established and is hoping for a contract job, but essentially, for now I would be the main support if we could find a way to be together.

Our ideal situation is to find a way to live and work in a European country. France is preferred because he is a fluent speaker and lived there for nearly 10 years before moving to his ex-wife's country.

So, where do I even start to get a good understanding of the visa options and laws, the possiblities for working, the regulations for starting a business (I have an idea that seems unique and I think would work well someplace like Languedoc or Provence), or am I just crazy?

If I sell my house in the US I will be able to pay off the start-up costs from the business I started here, but I would want to continue to work on growing that business as it is internet-based and mainly involves selling information products. I would keep the bank account and business listing in the US.

But I won't have an enormous amount of money to live as an extended-stay tourist, or to purchase a property and start any moves toward citizenship in France. So, is it possible for someone who is not independently wealthy to start a life in France?

If not, what have you hear about other European countries? Are there some that are more flexible?

And if you really think I've lost my marbles, please feel free to tell me.

Thank you Cindy. I just went there and registered.

I am so very new to all of this. Need information so I stop trying to nail jello to walls and can start having a solid course of action.

If this works out, I think I'll have to write a book.