Blood pressure measurement?

How is bp measured in France?

It cannot be the same ss in the UK or US. I have mine checked regularly where I am told re-assuringly that is ‘140’ with a regular heartbeat. Once or twice the doctor does near cartwheels when I return ‘125’. Yesterday it was ‘150’ with the Doctor saying it was good.

Are these numbers ‘the top line’ ones? If so, the internet has me quite the opposite :grinning:

I’m surprised they say 140 or 125, they would normally say 14 or 12 and a half. They do worry about hypertension. Here’s a diagram intended for French people.

Thanks Vero, you have answered my question!

My doctor does not speak english to me, but his French is pure and he speaks slowly but he always uses English numbers for some reason. When I said in my first post 140, in fact his actual words are: il est bon, c’est one, four, zero.

I have always taken this to be 140! So your attachment is invaluable!

I am not good with medical jargon, and regard anyone who is as superior beings! I just go along with what the doctor reads from my annual blood test and put my trust in what he tells me to do!

But reading your chart, I am, at 14.0 above normal…maybe he knows that I am not going to change my diet and his ‘good’ is relative :rofl:

There seems to be several factors effecting blood pressure such as the bodies ability to make nitric oxide which allows for diltation of the arteries to aging that prevents blood flow into the fine capillaries. Could be worth asking for a CT angiogram to check for narrowing of the arteries,

Not just blood pressure. I have another measurenent where the result comes back in big round numbers in France, looks like some sort of cubic volume measurement. Instead of just very low single digit numbers with a decimal point with 1 digit after the point as in England.