Buying a second hand car in france

What should I look for when I buy a second hand car in France, never done this before so I am new to the procedure.

What paper work should i be looking for .

Hi Simon,

Having just gone through this situation myself you may find the following information helpful. You do not say whether the car you're buying is a UK registered one or French registered, so I've tried to cover all bases for you.

Before agreeing to buy a used car:

• Make sure that the series number stamped on the car matches that in the registration documents of the seller
  • Make sure that the seller is the legally registered owner of the car by checking on the certificat d'immatriculation and/or make sure that the seller provides a certificat de situation, which includes a certificate of non-security (valid for one month) and a certificate of non-opposition (valid for two months) proving that the car may be sold

When paying for and taking possession of the of the used car, ensure the seller provides all items listed'

The seller must provide the buyer with the following:

1. Certificat d'immatriculation barrée: this is the vehicle registration document, the certificat d'immatriculation with written on it, by the seller, in indelible ink the words "Vendu le..." and the date, or "Cédée le..." and the date, followed by the seller's signature
  2. Certificat de situation administrative (commonly known by its old name of certificat de non-gage), which certifies that the car is not acting as security against a loan (valid for one month) and that there is no judicial opposition to its sale (valid for two months). The form is available from the Préfecture or Sous-Préfecture

3. Déclaration de cession, form Cerfa n°13754*02 (certificate of transfer and document of sale) in triplicate. One copy is given to the buyer, one is kept by the vendor and the third is sent to the Préfecture after the sale is complete. The form is available from the Préfecture or Sous-Préfecture.