Car insurance for U.K. vehicle for French resident

Hello there. I wonder if you can help me please. I am a French resident with a British passport who has applied for a new French driving licence which is in the system with ANTS over the last couple of months. I understand I can drive with the attestation of application. All good. My problem is insurance. I still have an address in the U.K. and work there too. I am a named driver on a U.K. vehicle that my companion and I own and drive mostly on the Continent. Sometimes I will need to drive U.K. registered vehicles both in the U.K. and in EU. I won’t own a vehicle here in France. Can you help me understand how I go about insuring myself please. Many thanks. Francine.

Just to be clear the U.K. vehicle lives in the U.K. and not in France and has an English number plate. Many thanks.

@fabien
Hi Fabien… are you able to explain to @francine27 how this might be achieved, please…

1 Like

Hi Francine,

This is actually super simple. Here are the different scenarios and their “solutions”:

• You drive a foreign registered vehicle that is parked in France for less than 90 days in a row => you need to be insured in the vehicle’s registration country
  • You drive a foreign registered vehicle that is parked in France more than 90 days in a row => you need to import that vehicle under French plates and be insured in France (we can help with both the import and the insurance)

In these first 2 situations the driver license is not an issue (at least from a French standpoint).

• You drive a French registered vehicle and it’s your vehicle**=>you need to be insured in France under your name or be a named driver on the policy**