Catastrophe Naturelle excess

Morning
Last june ( 2018 ) we had a flood, which caused a bit of water damage inside the house. We were at the time insured with La Poste and a very nice assessor came and approved our claim, which was quickly paid
We’ve just received a letter from La Poste, saying that the floods have now been classified by the state as "Catastrophes Naturelles "
They’ve said that, because of this, our excess, which was 120€ has been revised to 380€ and they now want a cheque for 260€ to cover the difference.
Has this happened to anyone else ?
Thanks

If the change in legislation has occured since your claim was agreed it seems a bit sneaky, to say the least…but I have no knowledge of the law, local or otherwise.

Hello Bev… long time, no see

I would take the letter along to the Mairie and ask their advice.

There are so many scams… this might be one… on the other hand, it might be La Poste “trying their luck”… who knows… the Mairie will have the information about the floods etc… and give best-advice.

There will be small print somewhere saying what they can revise in certain circumstances. If you find a let out for them then you probably have to go with it. I’d definitely be checking carefully before paying anything back.

I wonder what happens where folk have moved away in the interim ???

gone abroad even… ???

Do they still hope to get their money… and do they really have the right ??

I believe that your house insurance will cover for inondations, even if its classed as catastrophe naturelle.
Take a good look at the contract, it seems odd that they should want you to pay an excess.
I have put a link on here by the French Federation of Assurance…take a look and see if your situation is covered.
I would also think seriously about getting a quote from another Insurance company.

https://www.ffa-assurance.fr/infos-assures?f[0]=field_infos_assures%3Aparents_all%3A143

I’m still not convince it is kosher… smells a bit to me… :zipper_mouth_face: