Childcare - Adult to child ratios

The UK Government are looking at the child to adult ratios for farming out the little ones. Is it really acceptable to have one adult care for five under twos over a nine hour period? The human female is not designed for multiple births - this is for a reason, small babies are demanding and require one to one attention. As a cost cutting exercise I feel that this may well come back and bite the powers that be. There were many studies in the 90's that produced mixed results, however my over riding memory of these reports was the fact that babies placed in childcare before the age of one had more difficulty accepting instruction from adults as they were used to operating independently (I may be wrong, twas a long while ago).

The French model is being quoted as the way forward. I have no personal experience of this but shudder each time I see the local 5 year olds with their wheelie suitcases on the way to school. The recent school lunch discussion has also raised some alarm bells.

Many of you out there are far more qualified than I to comment on this - what are your opinions?

It's a mixture of what one has, the other does not and then I think comparing just two countries is a hiding to nothing anyway, there are just too many differences. Also, one should never forget, the discrepancy between any two schools anywhere is too great for us ever to measure exactly.

The difficulty is that the initial publication that sparked this discussion is wrong. Childminders in France are not allowed to look after 5 babies in their home, full stop.