Drink driving at Xmas

Something to think about before you drinks and drives this Xmas. With the Holidays upon us I would like to share a personal experience with my friends about drinking and driving.

As you may know some of us have been known to have brushes with the authorities from time to time on the way home after a “social session” out with friends. Well two days ago I was out for an evening with friends and had several cocktails followed by some rather nice red wine. Feeling jolly I still had the sense to know that I may be slightly over the limit. That’s when I did something that I’ve never done before - I took a cab home.

Sure enough on the way home there was a police road block but since it was a cab they waved it past. I arrived home safely without incident. This was a real surprise as I had never driven a cab before, I don’t know where I got it and now that it’s in my garage I don’t know what to do with it.

Right, that's it, silly old drunkard out of our chimneys! Bah humbug! Whoops, wrong post ;-)

One of my Breton neighbours came in to use my telephone last week as his portable had died. He was reeking of booze - this was 9.30am - he called his work to say his car had broken down and he couldn't go in. All I could think was - thank goodness his car had broken down because he certainly shouldn't have been on the road in charge of anything.

I had a gastric bypass last year and now have a very low tolerance to alcohol - I'm a very cheap date now! The surgeon told me that he wouldn't operate on people who drank regularly as alcohol has such a dramatic effect when you are not absorbing all the food you eat.