Education - French or English?

Having read some of people’s opinions and experiences of french education it got me thinking…

Before moving to France I was teacher of Food Technology and Business Studies (primarily) in a secondary school in England. In English schools the students have no option when it comes to practical subjects, they have to do them from age 11. My experience of this was that they covered skills like cookery, woodwork, metalwork, building skills, etc. depending on the school. I worked in a school where 80% of the students were transient and therefore had differing experiences and attitudes to school and what they learnt. Most of the students I taught treated the practical subjects and academic subjects with equal distaste! You can lead a horse to water but you can’t make it drink as the saying goes… We also had a lot of special needs students and a department in school to address the most severe cases.

When we moved to France my son was 8 years old and couldn’t speak or understand a word of French. He was the only English boy in his class and having been labelled a disruptive student in his English primary school I knew I was in for a lot of worry and heartache.

However within his first year of primary school here in France his school highlighted his problem with study – he was dyslexic. He was referred to an orthophoniste (speech therapist) and this helped him immeasurably and he overcame many of his problems. He now reads and writes French better than he does English and verbally he is fluent (I am very envious of him).