Exchanging UK licence for a French one

I am a French resident who currently has a UK driving licence. My UK licence was renewed in 2023, because the UK requires it when you are aged 70 or over. My new UK licence does not have the EU flag on it as to mark the UK’s exit from the EU, the EU flag was removed from all UK driving licences from 1 January 2021.
I was recently informed that is not legal to drive under my UK licence that was issued after Jan 2021 and that I needed a French driving licence. I have recently applied through the ANTS system for a new French driving licence. I immediately received a Justificatif de depot de demande with a reference number and stating that I had demanded a new driving licence. Does anyone know if this receipt makes me legal to drive in conjunction with my UK driving licence or will I get some sort of attestation in a few days to say I am allowed to drive or is the worst case scenario that I am not legally allowed to drive in France until I get my new licence in however many months time.

That’s not strictly true. As explained here, your licence is valid for 1 year from the date upon which you settled in France. How long ago did you become a French resident?

Edit: Forgot to say, I’m afraid I don’t know the answer to you question… just in case you’ve been here over a year already.

and I’m wondering who “recently informed…” @Giscard ???
as there is an important exception for British Licence Holders…

(à l’exception d’un permis britannique délivré avant 2021)

"except for the UK Driving Licence obtained before 2021
ie one passed one’s Test before 2021 :wink:

Of course, we don’t have all the facts… so perhaps it’s not straight forward after all… but I’d have placed a bet that his UK licence is still valid… :wink:

1 Like

Ah, I interpreted the délivré avant 2021 part to mean when the licence was issued (or reissued in this case), not when the holder first passed their test.