Family Dynamics / Technology in the Home

Hi! I’m a reporter working on a piece about technology in the home. Wondering how smartphones and smart-devices have shaped daily rituals in France? How have they changed family dynamics?

Is anyone at a breaking point feeling tied to screens? And if so, what are creative ways to cut out or reduce tech?

I do not have one and Jim has an old one our daughter gave him.
We are retired and use our mobiles for emergency only.
We have desk tops, lap tops and tablets to work with.

Hi Emma and welcome to the Forum.

Please amend your Registration Page to show your Full Name (as per our T&C).

If you are not sure how to do that, simply put your Full Name here and I will amend it for you.

It would also be nice to know which Journal (or whatever) you are working for… :relaxed:

cheers

I’m happy to reply once I have found out which publication this is for.

Hi all! Thanks for the replies! I’m a journalist with Google, based in LA but covering Europe.

Hi Emma, can you state simply what your journalistic purpose is as a Google employee, so that those of us may be motivated to respond to your enquiry have an idea of how our responses are likely to support it? Otherwise, as you should understand, as a responsible professional, we are likely to be very careful about what, if anything, we are willing to disclose.

Look forward to hearing from you, Emma.

Sure! So Google recognizes that in many ways technology is working and making our lives better, but there’s also a sense that people are reaching a boiling point, feeling saturated and addicted to screens. They’re looking to take the temperature of people all over the world to see how they’re using devices, and if they’re using (or not using them) differently than they were in the past. Are people swapping out smartphones for old-school mobile ones? Trying to send more hand-written letters? Teaching their children morse code?

Let me know if this helps!