Financing a Chambre D'Hotes

Hello everyone!

Wondering if anyone can help. We are a couple from the UK looking into buying a Chambre D’Hotes in France and are struggling to find any kind of mortgage or finance. Is it even possible to purchase a property of this kind with finance? We have been turned away from many mortgage advisors now. Thank you!

Welcome to Survive France!

I am not an expert in any shape or form, but I think this is always going to depend on your individual circumstances - how much of a deposit you can contribute, how much you need to borrow, the value of the intended property and whether it will need renovating, and your track record at running a similar business in the UK.

I would guess you are finding it difficult as you are attempting the double whammy of buying a property on a mortgage while also starting up a new business in France, and presumably not having a guaranteed income until the CDH gets going?.

There’s lots of general information here which may help you:

Thanks for this … Nobody will even listen to the amount we can put down as a deposit unfortunately. It’s a ‘we don’t do mortgages or guts, chambre d hotes or commercial businesses’. Not sure what other options there would be other than this. Ideally we purchase an already up and running business which we have found examples of

Sounds like you need to find a commercial mortgage broker rather than one that does residential property?

Maybe a notaire in the area you are looking would know somebody? Or a French law firm that deals with commercial property?

2 Likes

Are you currently resident in France?

Are you asking in France or in the UK?

As foreigners resident in France you can get a prêt immobilier but I imagine you have a load of hoops to jump through.

1 Like

From the UK