French teenager moving to the US

Hi,

I’m helping a French teenage girl (14) prepare for her imminent move to the US. She is in 4ème at Collège here in France and does not know what to expect from school in the US (what’s an average day like, amount of homework, exams, etc.). Any info/tips you could share would be greatly appreciated :slight_smile:

Thanks

Alex

Things have really changed since I was in grade school and high school. I graduated from high school in 1959. Then there were no such thing as drugs and the worse thing a student could do was to smoke. Not many kids had cars. We came to school walking or on a school bus. We always took our lunch and no one thought it was uncool. I never saw a fight in the school. We did get homework but I don’t remember it being repressively heavy. Grades were given according to performance and students were failed if they didn’t achieve and had to repeat a year. Of course, I’m not sure about the star athletes who might have been passed “for the benefit of the school sports program”. We would never consider speaking back to a teacher or the coach because we would be sent to the Principal’s office for punishment. Of course, we didn’t have computers, cell phones, and other distactions. TV itself was just coming into it’s own and our Black & White TV was difficult to watch since it never stayed in sync. Some things have improves and some things have become worse.

Hi,
I am a high school teacher in the US and I know the French system very well also.In my district 4e(8th grade) is in middle school. High school starts in 9th grade.