Getting Residency

I guess a bit of a wing and a prayer post, but I’ve been coming to France for long-stays (three months at a time, maxing out my waiver) for years now, and have been trying to find a way to get residency here about as long. I’m here now, and my 90 days are up in a couple weeks, and it brings sadness, to think I will again have to spend a bunch of money just to live in a place I don’t want to be, which has had negative impacts on health and general life.

The three options for me (U.S. citizen, 40 yrs old, self-employed) I’ve identified for long-stay visa / residency are:

• Marriage/PACS

• Student (could get a Masters here, but even student visas now require a minimum of one year’s living expenses in the bank, so I’ve read = at least 12000 EUR per year - I don’t have this, plus it seems most Etudes en France programs do not have free tuition, as many national programs do, but instead charge as much or more than U.S. institutions)

• Start a business (requires a full business plan and 30000 EUR to start - don’t have that money)

Basically, finances are the issue… I make enough working independently, remotely, to get by, but I do not have tens of thousands sitting in a bank account I can show the French government. Maybe one day.

If anyone has any other ideas, or knows of a company willing to actually deal with the absurd requirements of hiring a non-EU foreigner here with visa sponsorship, I’m all ears (eyes). I’ve previously spoken with several people in the Ministry of Education (I dated a teacher for a while, have met others, and even spoke with a policy-maker that went to the same university as me), but even they have pointed out how difficult it is to even get an English teaching position here as a non-EU foreigner (the policy-maker, at the time I was with ‘ma copine,’ told me to get married because it would be FAR easier than finding a job here that would sponsor me).

My professional background in a nutshell: