Home brew. Where to start!

I'm completely new to this, I'm wondering where to start. Is it very time consuming, where do I get the supplies, how should I begin? Please post your tips for beginners in this thread!

Thanks

James

I've done lots of kit brewing but want to start with all-grain. I've found it easier to buy stuff from the UK online than use any French suppliers. I'm currently trying to find vessels to use as a mash tun and boiler, but again, I find it easier to source those things in the UK. The French seem to have an over-inflated view of what second-hand things are worth too (see cars!).

Picomousse is at Allée Denis Papin, 69200 Vénissieux (http://www.picomousse.fr/picomousse/about_us.php)

It's just the other side of the southern ring road. Owner is a bit of a character. Only time I bought stuff from him, he insisted that I entered an order on line from his office PC.

Hello David,

I am an avid American homebrewer, but I will be moving to Lyon in September to pursue a PhD at the Ecole (ENS). Can you provide me with the location of this store you are referencing? I am not sure where in Lyon I will be living, but hopefully close to the Ecole.

Thanks!

Kevin

I have started buying some bits from here http://www.lebonplan.fr/

I went on a half day brewing course in Lyon about 18 months ago and brewed 20 litres from scratch but for the time being I am using kits that I buy from the UK (From the Happy Brewer in Bedford and shipped over by Parcels Please that I came across on here).

I tend to use a King Keg to brew it in rather than bottles as I prefer draught beer to bottled and I hate cleaning/styerilising the bottles.

We have 4 or 5 micro breweries around us so don't have to drink Kronenbuirg all the time

Thanks David,

Sounds like fun, I think I'll give it a go. I'll start with preparing empties first! I helped a friend with some bottling a while back, he runs a microbrewery and if I remember rightly we bottled nigh on a 1000 that day!