Hospital costs for UK holidaymaker with ehic card

A friend from the UK is currently visiting and has had the misfortune to suffer from an exacerbation of the emphysema from which she had suffered for several years.

As a result we had to call out the Sapeurs Pompiers who have taken her to Poitiers CHU where she will stay for 4 days.

It transpires that her travel insurance excludes all pre-existing conditions (why do people buy insurance like this???) and as a result will probably have to make a contribution to the cost of her care. She does have a valid EHIC card.

Does anyone have any idea what sort of amount she is likely to have to pay for hospital stay/ blood test/x-ray?

And does the fact that emphysema is (I believe) an ALD in France affect the required payment?

She was passed as ‘fit to travel’ by her GP and consultant so she wasn’t travelling recklessly before anyone hijacks the thread in that direction!

I’m not an expert by any means Brian, but my understanding of the EHIC (and GHIC?) is that it gives the same level of free cover as enjoyed by the citizens of the country one is visiting. So I guess she’ll be liable for the expenses our mutuelles cover. A percentage of the room, etc. etc. Maybe a way to get an estimate would be for the hospital to print out the matrix with the division of those charges. As for ALD, I think my MT had to register me for that, so it may not apply to visitors.

Your warning on travel insurence is very valid. I had a fall in the shower in London in the summer that ended up costing me £1,000 in missed flights and hotel bill but neither my nor my wife’s travel cover paid out a penny. I’ve been using the same firm for decades but they just wriggled out it on my policy and then used another wriggle on my wife’s. At least we know now. I’m going to keep complaining about it and escalate it until I reckon I’ve wasted at least £1,000 of their admin time so that it would have been cheaper to pay me.

6 Likes

Thank you, John.