House Insurance

Just received my house insurance for next year - up 10%. Does anybody insure their French house with a non-French company, and if so, who?

I think being up there as a deputy dog and in another country, my son who was never selling insurance himself would not have known how to, but then I wasn't being serious - except if he had been able to do it ;-)

When I worked in insurance in the UK I never gave my family a discount because I always felt I needed the full commission as I knew there would be a claim I would have to handle.

You said it better Chris. My son is employed by the second. Ironically when we left CA last month that is who we changed to, but no discount :-(

Axa is French

Allianz is German

Generali is Italian

Aviva is UK

But all have French offices so their policies are written here in accordance with French insurance law.

Insuring abroad may seem attractive but in the event of a dispute it is the company issuing the policy which will be subject to their national laws and not the French ones so it could be a risk.

Also if you insure with a French national or approved insurer and they supply a policy wording in English for you, it is only for information and in the event of a dispute, the original French policy wording is what would hold sway.

2 Likes

Several insurance companies here are not actually French, simply the French 'branch'. My son works for one in the country where the head office and origins of one of the big ones is. He is a regional deputy director even. So when we came here I asked him for a favour. He said it is not advisable on the basis of all countries having their own insurance legislation. It is something to do with different types of policy and coverage by legal system, which is where he lost me and I have not got a clue. Anyway, we got a blunt 'no' and then blundered into a policy that was not really worth having and too expensive, so that we changed company in August.