How did you decide where to live in France

Afternoon so I am still a newbie here and not yet familiar with peoples journeys. I have spent quite a few hours trawling through posts/ threads.

I’m also reviewing the property portals mostly Leggett and Rightmove.

Personal journey is I’ve been to France for many holidays over the years first with my parents; Concarneau, Hourtin ending up in areas around St Tropez, mainly camping or in mobile homes as was the way in the mid/ late 70’s and 80’s.

I picked up from there adding the Dordogne and started renting holiday houses rather than mobile homes. We also used to try out areas to break up the drive; Chinon, Chateauroux, Auxerre, Rouen, Macon/ Lyon area etc. Close to autoroutes.

If the exchange rate was good we used to pop for a booze cruise weekend in Pas de Calais area. Saint Omer or Arras and take in a market day.

We both really fancy getting off of the work roundabout. It could be we have our year out and return to the UK and pick up where we left off or we sell up in UK and pin the tail on the donkey and take a chance. We are active dog walkers and hope to have a large garden and or access to country walks. I have always fancied sailing at some point or at very least having a small boat for pleasure and or a little sea fishing so might want to keep this option open.

It’s this pinning the tail on the donkey whether we rent or buy which is proving troublesome. Considering hiring an RV and poodling around for a month to see what we like maybe.

Sorry for the ramble but the question really is “How did you decide where to base yourselves in France? and did you rent first to make up your minds or just dive straight into the deep end”.