I'm thinking about moving to France, but can't speak french

Hello,
I’m new to the group.
I’m thinking about moving to France and buy a house to retire, but can’t speak french. How difficult would it be? Regarding the state paperwork and finding a translator, and anything else that might be a problem-

It depends very much upon where you plan to move to. In many areas English is spoken in many key places and/or it’s straightforward to find people who are in business to help or translate while in other locations you might find that you’re very much on your own. Which area were you thinking of?

1 Like

May one ask if you are married or live with a partner who speaks a little French? That could be a great help. However, if not, then you may need to consider carefully, because you may be hugely frustrated when you have to deal with French bureaucracy,which can be a REAL PAIN if you cannot understand French. I taught French for a living for many years, but when I moved over to Brittany I was really struggling to make myself understood, and were it not for a Twinning friend who is French to help me out I would have been in great difficulty. France has a lot to offer in terms of scenery, food, and history, things that one can enjoy when on holiday; but if you choose to LIVE in France permanently, you have a steep learning curve to follow just to survive. That is a worst-case scenario, of course. But one thing: if you make that first vital step when meeting a French person by trying out a couple of French words, such as “Comment ça va?” you will have made the first step in having a friend for life! But you MUST make the first move!