Insurance for cars over 10 years old

Hi All,

Apologies if I'm going over old ground here. I was advised, just before my insurance renewal, that "standard" cars (not "classics", I suppose) over 10 years old have no residual value in insurance terms.

I checked this just before renewal time and found out that I had been paying fully comp for 2 years for absolutely no reason. This has cost me over 300 euros a year and I have now reverted to 3rd party.

Neither insurers nor their agents will automatically inform you of this, it is surprising that insurers should even be allowed to offer fully comp in these circumstances. Surprising or just plain wrong?

Thought I'd let everyone know, if they didn't already. There will be exceptions, I'm quite sure but in my case, it was straightforward.

Bon courage,

Neill

yep...it was confused...we had moved to the languedoc...registered the car as French...in Perpignan....moved to the Dordogne..paperwork their end got lost...we ended up with two insurances...neither would budge...we were 800 euros out of pocket...and mighty peed off...it was actually Axa who insured us without request the second time....but it seems this is what insurance companies do now....if I want to insure...I will inform the agency...in fact my present insurance company was cancelled for next year...the first month I took out the policy...I cancelled it for the due date at the end of 12 months so I wouldnt get caught again....

I'm sure you could have got a refund from one of them Carol as you can't "double insure". If you'd had an accident who would have paid? The upside is you now have two no claims bonuses :-)