Is AI-generated "art" actually ART?

There was a recent discussion about “What is Art”. So, what do you think of all the AI-generated “art” that is now all over the internet? There are probably many answers to this; for example either it is NOT art, and will never be a genuine, personal, cultural/historical/geographically- located expression of human creativity. Or that maybe AI “art” is the start of something really new and interesting. Remember the critics of Bob Dylans electric guitar, who didnt see the possibilities of electronic music? What do you think? Artists opinions especially sought, please.

1 Like

I’m not an artist, but I am a techie :roll_eyes: and my vote is “not”. As regards electric guitars, it’s still a person doing the plucking. So, I’ve no issue with electric brushes or 3D printers or whatever tools, but the inspiration, for me, should be human, not some random (or not so random) thought generator :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

Depends on the criteria one uses to define ‘art’. If one chooses to regard AI as just another medium, like photography, then it comes down to intentionality of the person who initiated the work. As I’ve posted previously, putting something in the category of art because that’s where it fits best is a judgement of ‘category’ not ‘quality’. ie it can be ‘art’, but that doesn’t mean it’s necessarily art of quality (incidentally, I think that last phrase is a much more difficult one to consider).

Most of the egs I’ve seen (in reproduction) seem closer to illustration than to art, because they appear to do little more than illustrate, parody or plagiarise. However, one could argue that AI generated art has much in common with certain forms of Conceptual Art from the 1960s which just consisted of a typed series of instructions that the spectator could follow if they so desired. It seemed exciting at the time (at least to some), but it hasn’t aged well.