Is Wikipedia reliable

As an ancestry researcher I research many information sources which includes Wikipedia. A single source should never be taken as correct but often provides a good lead.
With this in mind how reliable is Wikipedia?

I think the answer is - ā€œit variesā€, for purely factual/scientific stuff it can be pretty accurate and often a good enough introduction to an unfamiliar topic for interested individuals who have a decent level of background education/understanding.

But there have been some famous (or should that be infamous) bits of misinformation on there, often deliberate so Iā€™d certainly agree that sources should be checked.

Which can be difficult when almost every online reference just lifts the wikipedia text and reformats it :rage:

3 Likes

isnā€™t there aa disclaimer in Wikipediaā€¦ that they are not responsible for the veracity of the contentā€¦ :wink:
EDIT having saidthatā€¦ I often use wiki for general infoā€¦ :wink:

Iā€™m a great Wikipedia fan, I even donate :face_with_hand_over_mouth: but caution is advised. There are protections to prevent and track spurious editing by bad actors, butā€¦ Iā€™d always verify before using Wiki info for any serious purpose.

4 Likes

Iā€™m sure thatā€™s universal these days Stella :joy: buried in the reams of online T&Cs that nobody has the time or inclination to read but which we have to sign to use a product or access a website. It really is a disgrace. I mean, who has ever read Microsoft Office T&Cs for example, Or the very popular, "by accessing this website you agree toā€¦ "

not hidden, as I recallā€¦ although it was quite a few years ago that I noticed itā€¦ and it seemed quite reasonable, as it is all volunteers doing their bestā€¦

1 Like

scroll to the bottom and click ā€œdisclaimerā€

and it brings up the bumpfā€¦

No, Iā€™m sure not, the Wiki founders are good guys. I was referring to the universality of Pontius Pilate T&Cs online.

1 Like