Land farming subsidies

Hi

ive got a feww hectares of land that im thinking of arable farming; id like to know how can i apply for a subsidy to farm the land, what the subsidy will amount to, whether the subsidy is discretionary and what conditions apply

any info/leads most welcome

thanks

thanks to all, most informative, especially for sharing your experience Tim

cheers

Hi Andy,

Apart from running the LeLingo bilingual helpline I am also a registered farmer here in France since 2002. Helen Franklin's answer is the most complete so far with one notable exception. As well as being a registered farmer with the MSA (Mutuelle Sociale Agricole) which you must be to exploit your land as a business, you will also have to be registered with your local Chambre d'Agriculture. The land you wish to cultivate must also have been declared for EU subsidies BEFORE the end of 1992 otherwise it will not be eligible for subsidies even if you become a registered "Exploitation Agricole" or "Chef d'Entreprise Agricole". A further complication will be that in your department there will be a minimum surface of "terres"* under your ownership or control for you to be able to register - even if you qualify in all other areas. I know this because I have been through the "hoops" in the Lot for my own 23 hectares and have helped other people register.

A further complication is that to become a registered farmer in France you will need to prove you have the qualifications for it before you can be accepted and registered, rather like the Chambre des Métiers where an Artisan has to prove relevant qualifications OR experience before he or she can register. This is why there is so much opposition in France to the Auto Entrepreneur status who do not have to prove their bona-fides to be able to work and pay a reduced tax and social charge rate for, now at least, the first three years.