Language courses - Assimil

I’ve been using Linguaphone for a few months now to learn French. It is very good but I am finding the content a little boring. I’ve been reading up on Assimil courses.
The beginner to B2 course looks very promising. Has anybody on here used this?

As an aside - I’m currently using ‘TransparentFrench’ in a trial 14 day period. It’s American and my translation of les toilettes = the toilets was marked incorrect. Should have been restrooms!
I’ve just read an interesting fact in the course - ‘Every town in France has a train station (une gare), even small towns’. I wonder how close to the truth this can be.

If anyone has a copy of Assimil to sell with cds please let me know.

Many years ago, a friend gave me a very useful dictionary… French to English/English to French. The great thing was that French was the starting point… thus the words and phrases were correct for us here in France… :hugs:

Perhaps there is a French to English website you might find useful …

The trick is to find what best suits your personal learning preferences, your daily routine, your needs and your budget. For my wife and I, this has been a lengthy, complex process, but perhaps my lengthy, complex reply may make your journey a little simpler…

Nine years ago, when we bought our French house, we were both still working in the UK and decided to have personal french lessons with a french teacher who lived in the next village (in Cumbria). These proved to be expensive and we learnt very little, despite my wife having assiduously takenAlliance Française classes in Jo’burg for a couple of years, and also had the advantage of being wholly bi-lingual - Afrikaans speaker with an MA from an anglophone university). Anyhow, after a couple of not very useful and not very cheap lessons, we knew this wasn’t working.