Languages - learning Orally

I’d like to add a couple of languages to those I have some knowledge of : particularly Arabic.

Does anyone know of an online course that works primarily orally? If I was going screen-based I’d go Rosetta stone based on recommendations. But I’d really like something I can listen to while moving around doing other things at home or out in the car. At least to begin with?

I have used Pimsleur to learn some Italian. It was quite an old course on cassettes from the Library. Maybe you could find more up to date versions as it was pretty good.

1 Like

Do you want to learn fus.ha (modern standard/ literary Arabic, what they read the news in, what newspapers are printed in) or 'aamiyya (what people talk in the street)? Because the former is universal throughout the Arab world and there are lots of resources but the latter varies a lot from place to place eg in Morocco there’s a lot of Tamazigh etc mixed in and as it isn’t really written at all it is a bit tricky.
One of my old lecturers wrote/compiled the first ever dictionary of colloquial Egyptian Arabic and that was only 30 odd years ago.
I’ll have a look around if you like :blush: I might be in a position to tell you if a course is any good, objectively.
Hans Wehr’s is the dictionary most learners use, and Heywood and Nahmad for grammar.
Just for oral Arabic maybe Berlitz or Rosetta Stone or any of those courses, but I don’t know much about them.
There’s an excellent Larousse/Librairie du Liban French/Arabic Arabic/French dictionary. If you have the opportunity to go to Mollat in Bordeaux they have a lot of resources.
Don’t be put off reading Arabic, it isn’t that hard (even though the grammar is hellish to learn if you aren’t used to Semitic languages).

Edited to add when I say read Arabic I just mean inscriptions etc at least to start with :wink:

2 Likes