Mechanics in France

I’ve had my Nissan note for over 12 years now, and until now has never had problems passing it’s MOT. With over 250 000 km on the clock, I expected some work would be needed this time but didn’t expect to face writing off a perfectly sound car for a couple of bits of rubber! Now, I’m not a mechanic, and it’s a french MOT, and the problem is ‘les silents blocks sur le berceau’. Something to do with the mounting between the engine and the car body. I’m certain an english mechanic could describe this better.! Nissan cant (or dont want to) find the pieces (perhaps obsolete after 12 years??) and Im stuck for ideas. As a starter it would be great if a knowledgable engineer could explain in proper english garage language what my problem is and even better provide a schema and a source for these pesky rubber bits!

Is this a Nissan dealer? You might have more success at a local garage who will happily fit aftermarket parts rather than a dealer who can only fit official parts.

1 Like

Thanks for yout input John, I am currently trying that but since the ‘silent blocs’ dont have a part number (they are sold as part of the assembly by nissan) its difficult to know if its the right piece or not. Hence my post!