Moving to France (Lot et Garonne) and Working there!

We are looking at moving from the UK to France (I am French, my partner is English and we have a little boy)…any advice on where we could advertise our services please?
My partner is a -reliable- Electrician and I will be starting as a freelancer for translating your everyday bills/emails etc from English To French/ French to English as I have been living in the UK for 10+ years and am bilingual. I will be able to do this from home via the internet/phone. I am also a nanny here in the UK (working at the families place) but I believe they are not very popular in France due to cost?
Are English electricians sought after?
We are currently looking at moving in the Lot et Garonne area.

Any info greatly received!

You probably know this already but http://www.lautoentrepreneur.fr/ may be your best business statut for your freelance translation work if you have minimal overheads (I also work as a translator and micro entreprise has worked well for me :slight_smile: )

I can confirm what Anna says re translation work (I taught and translated for many years, vacataire before the auto-entrepreneur status came into being then 4 years under that regime). Nannies aren’t that big here but good nounous are often over-booked :wink:

An english sparky is going to be a little more difficult - you need to speak to the chambre de métiers and see if his qualifications are recognised and as the normes and spec are rather different here (as I’m sure you know) he’ll probably have to undergo some form of professional training, perhaps a cap for example but I’m sure your local (Agen) chambre de métiers will be able to clarify that :wink:

Chambre de Métiers et de l’Artisanat Interdépartementale
Section Lot-et-Garonne

Impasse Morère – 47 000 AGEN

Tél : 05 53 77 47 77
Fax : 05 53 68 01 50
Email : contact47@artisanat-aquitaine.fr
www.cm-agen.fr