My Views on French Country Life

My “about” page on here says that I wear many hats – no understatement I might add.
One of them is that of a teacher.

In a former life I taught Spanish at the University of Wales, and

somehow that has morphed into teaching English here for the local Chambre de Commerce. I even get to teach the odd hour or two of Spanish from time to time as well.

I have been doing this for about three years now, and whilst on a (very) part-time basis, it is something that I enjoy very much.
My reasons are simple:

Firstly it allows me to further my understanding of how things work in our area and in France in general.

Secondly, each and every one of my students has been an absolute delight to teach.

It is through them that I have come to appreciate the gentle nuances of French Country Life.

I am ever aware that some of the expat community can be somewhat harsh

about the quieter lifestyle that the French live in these parts.

Unkind references to “doing nothing other than sitting around the table eating” is a common criticism.
Au contraire.

Underestimate the richness of a Frenchman’s life at your peril.
Take Bernard my student who I taught this afternoon.
He is a modest – living man who eats out rarely, has a small family

home and a job that he has done for most of his working life. He is not

far off retirement and likes to spend his leisure time in his potager.

He has not set any land speed records, saved any lives or visited exotic places – in fact, he has never left his native France.

For those of you yawning at the back, don’t fret: He is enjoying a full and enriching existence.

Let me elaborate.

Part of our two-hour session is to talk of the previous weeks’ events, so I started this afternoon with a question on how he spent the
bank holiday weekend.

Admittedly her did work in the garden for one of his three days. However here is how he spent the other two.

He went to Poitiers on Saturday with his wife to help his niece set up