New Bank Account in France

Hi Folks,
I expect to close on my ‘new’ (to me) house soon, it’s in the south of Deux Sevres.
I’ve been told I will need a French bank account for several purposes including paying bills. I used to have an HSBC account in France maybe 15 years ago and I currently bank with HSBC in the UK. My thoughts are that (if it’s anything like 15 years ago) I should be able to go to my local HSBC and ask them to open an account for me in France. It was a doddle to do so 15 years ago.
My house is in southern Deux Sevres and the nearest HSBC branch is in Poitiers, an hours drive away. Since I have very seldom needed to actually go into my branch, I’m thinking this won’t be a problem. Would you agree?
Also, if you have any more recent experience with HSBC in France, was it positive or negative.?
Would you recommend another bank instead of HSBC?
Any and all advice welcome :slight_smile:

I have no experience of HSBC.

However if you’re happy dealing with your bank entirely online/by phone/letter etc,(have a good command of banking French - see below for Credit Agricole’s Britline) I agree you don’t need to be physically near your bank branch. I’ve never in my life visited either my UK or my French bank branches!. There are other people on this forum who clearly prefer the face to face interaction with their banks.

What does matter (for me) is that the bank branch is responsive and helpful. I have found Credit Agricole’s Britline service to be consistently excellent. It’s a branch staffed with about 60 bilingual employees (in Caen, Normandy) who are very responsive and proactive, and handhold (if needed) through the extensive requirements to open accounts, savings and investments etc. Their banking app is also quite good and is also in English if needed. It doesn’t matter where you live/have a house in France if you use Britline.Making the general situation more complicated (!) some banks, including CA, are regional, even if nationally branded.