New here

Hello all,

I have recently joined this group on recommendation from a friend. I still live in the UK but am considering a move to France in the next 2/3 years for retirement. I am ex-Royal Navy, then 25 years in IT and Telecoms and the last five years I have been a self-employed motorcycle instructor - although I am also now doing some work for a friend who has a company that retrains people leaving HM armed forces to help them into new telecoms careers.

I guess there is an awful lot to consider when moving to France - we want a change of lifestyle, maybe a simpler life, more sunshine, and more importantly time to go traveling/touring on the motorbike which is what we both love doing.

Where to move to? We are not looking to move to Little Britain but having a few ex-pats around would really help while we find our feet. We want to integrate and immerse ourselves in the local community and culture. We have friends in Langoelan, Brittany, some in Rivehaute in the Midi-Pyrenees, and some friends who run a b&b just down the road from Rocamadour. Interestingly (worryingly?) our friends nr Rocamadour say they have been subject to unfriendliness and racism - anybody else experienced the same? Where does this stem from? Is it intolerance to the use of English? Or is it just the fact that they are in a more rural area?

My wife, who is Russian by the way, would love us to have a traditional stone home with an open fire and some garden to grow vegetables - me? I don't care as long as I have a large garage and a shed for motorbikes and tools - as long as I have a man cave I'll be happy. Not looking to live in a city - small town or village will do but not totally isolated, would be nice to walk to a local bar, restaurant in the evening.

Any advice will be most welcome.

Mike and Alena