New user with a question about screws in window frames!

Hi all,

I’m new to this impressive forum so a big hello from Central Brittany. We’ve been here 4 years & enjoying life greatly! I’m an ex electronics expert & a dab hand with a computer if anyone has any questions!!

We live in a neo-Bretagne style house built mid-70’s. All the wooden windows have small screws in them fitted on the verticals. Inside & out! The screws are perpendicular to the frame & not completely screwed home. Please see the photo!

Can anybody tell me the purpose of these screws please?

Would be grateful for any comments!

Thanks & best regards!

I was going to suggest perhaps used to hold the frame for a mosquito net… but they’d only be on either the inside or the outside but not both. So I’m afraid I’ve got no idea :man_shrugging: But I’m now curious to know too :smiley:

PS - welcome to the site!

1 Like

@Dave_C
Welcome to the forum…

How many screws… is it just the one, inside and out…
or several… and if several, do they appear on all 4 edges of the window (inside and out)… ???

Welcome to SF, @Dave_C .

Perhaps one side for @Gareth’s mosquito net and one for secondary double-glazing?

Apart from that guess, I’ve no idea!

Hi All,

Many thanks for the responses…I should have said that there are always 3, 4 or 5 screws on each vertical frame member…depending on the window height. Only the vertical parts of the frame. They’re between 30 & 50 cms apart.

Cheers, Dave

Do the windows with these screws have external shutters?

A full photo of one frame might be helpful.

I’m really intrigued, @Dave_C, and I think other people are.

I hope you don’t mind my changing your title to attract more attention.

Ohhhh I love a mystery :rofl:. Welcome to SF, sorry no idea, mozze net seems most likely but odd both in and out. Unless they did it one way, realised it didn’t work so had to put them in the other way and never got around to taking off the unused ones?? :rofl: