Onedrive on Windows 10

I recently had to have my computer mended and windows 10 and Windows Defender were installed, everything was fine until I signed up to Onedrive. Now everytime I start the computer up it won’t connect me unless my internet is working and I have to sign in with a password. I didn’t have this before and would like to get rid of the Onedrive thing if I can without messing up my computer.

I’m not technically mind so if anybody knows, please tell me in easy to understand terms.

1 Like

I’m not a Windows fan but I found this reference which might be of help

2 Likes

The fact is that Microsoft are deliberately making it as awkward as possible to avoid having an account with them to even use Windows today, especially for the default “Joe Public” user. Whilst they can’t (yet) force you to have a OneDrive/Office365 account, they are doing their utmost to push you in that direction. This is pretty much in the same way as Apple is with macOS and their “Cloud” sync/backup, and Google with Android and “Google One”.

Obviously, if your life continued quite happily without them, then it is a PITA to have to sign up to something you don’t feel you need. There is definitely more, I feel, that could be done here to make that choice easier for users, irrespective of the provider.

1 Like

Hi Ann,
Go into your Task manager then start up

Right click on One drive & disable

Re boot & everything should be ok.

1 Like

Thank, but you say “Should be ok” will I lock myself out of my computer ?

No you’ll be alright, One drive is like Drop box all your doinig is disabling it when you start your computer. Disabling One drive stops it connecting to microsoft servers.

Can’t find Task Manager?? tried a search but nothing came up

Right click the taskbar (in an area not occupied by an icon), it should be listed in the menu which pops up.