Permis de construire

Hi everyone

We need to apply for permits de construire to renovate some derelict farm buildings. Is anyone able to confirm the rules regarding when you need an architect? Ie floor area/habitable space, whether it's external or internal measurements, whether it's both floors, whether ceiling height comes into play? Have received varying advice so am hoping to clarify before going to Mairie with plans.

Thank you.

Hi Sally,

I'm studying for my real estate license in France right now, so I can translate for you what the books say:

- You need a permis de construire for all new construction over 20 m2 floor surface (40 m2 in an urban zone with a PLU), or

- If you create an opening to the exterior, enlargen one, or modify the load-bearing structures of an existing structure while changing its "destination" or usage (ie. farm building to habitation).

- If the floor surface of the building(s) exceeds 170 m2 cumulative, then you must have an architect oversee the construction/renovation.

- You only need a déclaration préalable de travaux if: the work creates less than 20 m2 of floor space (40 m2 in urban zone) and does not bring the entire structure over 170 m2; you are just modifying the exterior (and not creating any openings); you are changing the "destination" or usage of the building (without modifying any load-bearing structures).

Hope this helps,

Dennelle

www.renestance.com

1 Like

Hello, I'm on several ex-pat forums (fora?) and am always surprised by this type of question.

Make an appointment with a local architect and ask him/her.

Thanks for your help. Greatly appreciated.

When trying to avoid architect costs the last thing you want to do is have an appointment with one!

What makes you think they will make a poteniel client pay for 20 minutes of advice?