Physical assault and verbal abuse within work

Hello,

PERSONAL BACKGROUND:
I am a professional dancer living and working in Paris for the past 3/4 years but I am originally from the states.

THE SITUATION:
My boss verbally abused me while we were inside the theater that we work at, he screamed at me for what felt like 10-15 minutes calling me disrespectful, untalented, cocky, he told me that I’m not a man, but “just a little fucking boy“. He was screaming and shouting at me and using profanity towards me while some of the girls all witnessed it from their dressing room.

What makes matters worse is that he pulled/yanked me down a few steps by my ear and kept shoving his finger into my chest, but unfortunately by that point the girls had gone to hide in their dressing room because they were genuinely terrified and didn’t want to be involved, but of course they witnessed the screaming from him.

The entire time I did not raise my voice at him once or use any profanity towards him.

I feel like I was truly traumatized. I don’t feel safe or comfortable being able to walk back into that work place environment after being verbally abused and physically assaulted.

So i’m in very serious need of some guidance on how to proceed with this situation? do i go to the police and file a report? nobody saw him put his hands on me, but multiple people heard him screaming away at me and verbally attacking me. is there anything legally I can actually do if nobody saw him actually shoving me with his finger and pulling me by the ear? is this even considered legal physical assault and verbal abuse?

please any help or guidance would be so very much appreciated x

Hi,

I don’t know what to advise you to do but just wanted to say that I am so very sorry that you had to go through that.

Maybe @vero might have some ideas?

2 Likes