Pool novices need help

Hi all we are total novices at pool life we have just bought a house with a pool we have drained it and are now filling it up with clean water, can anyone tell us how much chlorine we should add and how often? I think the pool holds about 20 000 gallons of water. There is an automatic chlorine feed attached to the filter system as well but have yet to suss out how to use that too x I think it is a sand filter

Hello Nicola and welcome to the forum. :slightly_smiling_face::slightly_smiling_face:

You are lucky to be allowed to fill the pool. Many areas of France have restrictions on water usage. :upside_down_face:

Do you have any paperwork relating to the pool and its equipment?

Nobody French will have the faintest idea what that means (I don’t myself!) cubic metres (m3) is what you will be dealing with - look in the yellow pages for a local pisciniste.
But also, as Stella says, beware, you might not be allowed to fill it up at all because we are in a drought crisis in most of the country.

Exactly why you shouldn’t use yellow pages or local piscinist, they will take full advantage of that fact and help themselves to your bank balance!

Well why don’t you go and help if they are within a reasonable distance - advice online is a fat lot of use frankly, if they know nothing. My local piscinistes are very helpful.

1 Like

Thanks for your replies. Not been made aware that we can’t fill the pool and it is just about done now so that is that. I think I need to use 2.6 ounces of chlorine does that sound about right ? And I need to filter between 3-4 hours a day.

I don’t think we have any paperwork for the equipment But will have another look in case x

1 Like

I can give plenty of good online advice as many will testify to on here and elsewhere. The level of paid for advice on pools in France and UK is bloody awful.

2 Likes