Prelevements Sociaux for a non-resident who owns a French property

Hello. I have noticed that the french impots are charging me prelevements sociaux for 2016. I am a UK resident but I own a property in France which is rented out. Can anyone tell me if I am obligated to pay the prelevements sociaux in France?

Thank you

soneone will soon chip in
 but you will probably find you are being charged PS on any income earned in France
 ie rental income

Thank you - seems rather unfair since I pay social charges in the U.K.

Hughie

@Hughie_Jessel

the French Social Charges are not at all the same thing as those in UK
 and as the rule stands
 earn it in France, pay it in France
 fair enough really.

I understand paying impots on revenues earned in France but don’t understand why there is a social levy as well

Hughie

This is nothing to do with Income Tax

I think it goes back some years to when there was a deficit in the Social Security coffers
 and this was a method put in place to try and balance the books
and safeguard the future of the Social Security system

For your information
 . CSG (contribution sociale gĂ©nĂ©ralisĂ©e) is NOT charged on my UK Pension (due to cross border agreement :grin:)
 but IS charged on any other income which is classed as “unearned” 
eg: rental, dividends etc etc
 That seems to be The Law
and we live with it
 :wink:

@Hughie_Jessel hi, this is normal as for renting your property you’ve probably registered your house as a gite business? And in France (like everywhere in the world) every business is taxed on its profit. Being a micro-entreprise the taxes are A/ lower and B/ a bit different but compare that to being self employed in the UK. I was self employed in the UK and was paying my taxes to the UK although being a French resident more than 6 months a year which makes sense as I made some revenues there.