Problem with Computer or Modem

I have a 7 year old computer running XP and I can only get dial up where I live, (Landes 40), as the computer came from the UK I had to buy an external modem.

Recently when on the internet it takes ages for pages to load and sometimes they freeze for a while, I’m wondering whether I now need to get a new computer or could it be the modem that is causing the problem, computer is also noisy sometimes,it sort of gurgles.

Thanks for any help

Hi Ann

Some thoughts which may be stating the obvious so bear with me. I too live in an area without broadband so I have some experience of the issues that you face

a) I do not find the lack of broadband an issue, though obviously it is slower than using that service. If the need arises for software updates, for example, I go to Crescendo and use their WiFi facilities (up to 150 Mbps compared to a 44 Kbps that I have typing this stuff up) . Never of course for anything that remotely requires security, such as personal financial stuff. Having said that my wife who looks at "shopping" web sites finds the download speeds acceptable.

b) As you have been advised, you need to upgrade your PC. Obviously I do not know your budget but go for a PC with the largest amount of memory , with the fastest internal clock speed and the largest amount of disk space that you can afford. Do not sacrifice any one of these for the other as they are all equally important. Also bear in mind that in all probability future software products and services will EXPECT you to have the fastest, biggest PC available, so investing for the future might be a factor worth thinking about.

c) You might care to have your house connections checked. When I moved to where I now live,I discovered, by chance that the "telephone box" inside the house, thus not the responsibility of France telecom was very old and the internal phone lines were of poor (i.e. old) quality. Getting all that improved (i.e replaced) made a big difference for me.