Promoting therapeutic massage in France?

My new wife, a certified, 20-year massage professional from America, has recently joined me here in the Paris region. The French are wary of most "new-agey" sounding stuff, and are miles behind the US in understanding & respecting massage as a serious health discipline. We have a studio set up for her, and she's anxious to build an English-speaking clientèle. Any thoughts about how to reach out to the ex-pat crowd?

Cecile - thanks for your thoughts & sharing your experience! Will share all this with Andria.

Hi Jeb, I'm a massage therapist and reflexologist in Hossegor(40) and one of the main thing to do first as a massage therapist in France is: don't say that you are doing therapeutic massage. Only the kines are allowed to say they do therapeutic massage. Your wife needs to keep positive though as we (ex-pats) do not massage like French people do. Anglo-saxon training is different, more anatomical, using deeper techniques...while massage therapists that have been trained in France use a much lighter touch, and this will make the difference for her. There are a lot of ex-pats around me and I'm in lucky to work in partnership with the nicest hotel in Hossegor, so i get a bit of buisness through them, but most of my non hotels clients are ex-pats, for the simple reason that word of mouth is working slowly but surely and that i am the only Massage Therapist doing Deep Tissue massage here and that they are (as a rule)more used to getting massages. Still, I do massage some french people that are totally receptive to my treatments, have discovered something new, and are recomending me to their friends. Word of mouth, Flyers in a couple of health shop, maybe patnership with a pilates or yoga center and she should be picking up clients in no time. Good Luck.

1 Like